The Thirty-six
Royal Races of Rajput

(by Brig. A. Mason, M.C., R.E.)

[June 27 2007]

Tribe Group Notes
1 Pramara Fire-born 35 branches from Dhar.
2 Agnipala Fire-born
3 Chouha Fire-born 24 branches from Ajmir, Brahmins, Chonan.
4 Solanki Fire-born or Baghela or Chalukya, 16 branches.
5 Parihara Fire-born or Pritihara or Pawar of Kananj.
6 Gehlote Children of the Sun or Gohil, 24 branches from Udaipur.
7 Rahtor Children of the Sun 24 branches from Jodhpur (Rathors).
8 Kachwaha Children of the Sun descended from Kush, 12 branches, Jaipur.
9 Birgujar Children of the Sun descended from elder brother of Rama.
10 Balla Children of the Sun from Multan.
11 Byce Children of the Sun from the Doab.
12 Dahirya Children of the Sun from the Desert.
13 Suruja Children of the Sun from Sawrashtra.
14 Yadu Children of the Moon 8 branches.
15 Jereja Children of the Moon descended from Krishna.
16 Tuar Children of the Moon from Delhi or Tomara.
17 Nicumpa Children of the Moon
18 Sikerwal Children of the Moon from the Jumna.
19 Jits Children of the Moon or Jats, or Juts, from Bikamir, Jodhpur
20 Chaura Scythians and others Scythian.
21 Jhala Scythians and others Scythian.
22 Gherwal Scythians and others from Bundelkhand.
23 Dahima Scythians and others connected with Lahore.
24 Johya Scythians and others from the Indus.
25 Sarwya Scythians and others
26 Mohil Scythians and others from Bikanir.
27 Sengar Scythians and others from the Jumna.
28 Gor Scythians and others connected with Lucknow.
29 Jaitwar Scythians and others or Camari.
30 Hun Scythians and others Scythian.
31 Katti Scythians and others Scythian.
32 Makwahana Scythians and others from Jhalawar.
33 Silar Scythians and others from Patan.
34 Pala Scythians and others Scythian.
35 Tak Scythians and others Scythian.
36 Dabi Scythians and others not now important.

The Rajputs proper were of mixed origin pre-Muslim invaders such as Scythians, Bactrians, Parthians, Hunas and Gurjaras who came in before, say, the end of the 7th century. They were reputed descendants of the Kshatrinjas (warriors and rulers) mentioned in the Rig Veda (Rajanya), the occupational caste of all clans of Hindus who undertook the act of Government. They were derived from three sources, the sun, the moon and fire, and should be of warrior status from princely lineage. So far we have only found four tribes from each source. Legend says that when Rama with the Axe destroyed all Kshatrinjas, the gods went to Mount Abu and from the sacred fire-pit produced five fire-born tribes.

In Page 8, line 13, Kipling mentions two of them, Chohan (Chouhan) and Rahtor, who became sworn enemies, the latter holding Kananj on the Ganges river some 200 miles S.E. of Delhi, until it became too large to hold against the Chohans. The last known of this dynasty of Rajput Kings of Ajmir was Rai Pithora or Prithiraj, who was defeated, captured and executed by the Moslems In 1192 A.D. at Tarain.

Tod increased his five original states to seven by adding Bikanir and Jodhpur in the desert. These he broke up not only into 36 races, but also into tribes numbering three figures. Dotah became Kotah, but was combined with Bundi to make Haravati the state of the Haras. Jaipur, which Kipling describes, is the modern capital of Dhundar, the home of the race of Kachwahas or children of Kush, the second son of Rama, the hero of legend and of the epic Ranmayana which has been transformed into one of the Hindu scriptures.

Those who would like to know more are referred to Tod's two volumes of 1829, Annals and Antiquities of Rajasthan.


A Mason 2007 All rights reserved